Beach in Nassau, Bahamas

Did You Know….

The Bahamas, known officially as the Commonwealth of The Bahamas, is a country within the Lucayan Archipelago. The archipelagic state consists of more than 700 islandscays, and islets in the Atlantic Ocean, and is located north of Cuba and Hispaniola (Haiti and the Dominican Republic), northwest of the Turks and Caicos Islands, southeast of the U.S. state of Florida, and east of the Florida Keys. The capital is Nassau on the island of New Providence. The designation of “the Bahamas” can refer either to the country or to the larger island chain that it shares with the Turks and Caicos Islands.

The closest island to the United States is Bimini, which is also known as the gateway to the Bahamas. The island of Abaco is to the east of Grand Bahama. The southeastern most island is Inagua. The largest island is Andros Island. Other inhabited islands include EleutheraCat IslandRum CayLong IslandSan Salvador IslandRagged IslandAcklinsCrooked IslandExumaBerry Islands and MayaguanaNassau, capital city of the Bahamas, lies on the island of New Providence. To the southeast, the Turks and Caicos Islands, and three more extensive submarine features called Mouchoir BankSilver Bank and Navidad Bank, are geographically a continuation of the Bahamas.

The official language of the Bahamas is English. Many people speak an English-based creole language called Bahamian dialect (known simply as “dialect”) or “Bahamianese”.

Haitian Creole, a French-based creole language is spoken by Haitians and their descendants, who make up of about 25% of the total population. It is known simply as Creole[1] to differentiate it from Bahamian English.[75] Also note that the Bahamas was once under British rule and therefore the English taught in the Bahamian schools is still “British-based”.

You can send your inquiry via the form below.

Recent Comments



    • No categories