Home > I want to go to… > Europe > Rhône River Cruises > Visit Switzerland and France along the Rhone River Valley

Visit Switzerland and France along the Rhone River Valley

The Bartholdi Fountain and City Hall of Lyon at night

  • 1.See the famous cities of the region: Lyon, Vienne, Valence, Vaison la Romaine, Orange, Avignon, Nîmes, the hillside villages of the Luberon.
  • 2.Take the 14 wine routes by car, on foot, by bike, on horseback, or in the air!
  • 3.Taste the combinations of great wines with local delicacies: olives, truffles and goat’s cheese.

As the second largest wine growing region in France, The Rhone Valley vineyard’s thrive on both sides of the Eponymous River. From Lyon to the Camargue, passing through the regions of Provence and the Luberon, the Rhône Valley vineyards are divided into two large wine-growing areas. To the north, the Septentrional vineyard clings to the abrupt hillsides in the steep mountain ranges; to the south, the Meridional vineyard enjoys the plains and gentle slopes. The 14 wine routes wind through historic villages in varying landscapes. They take you to the vineyards where the famous wines are made: Hermitage, Côte-Rôtie, Beaumes-de-Venise . Between fields of lavender and olive trees, share special moments with the winemakers, learn about wine and enjoy the hundreds of wine events. Under the southern sun, discover the Palace of the Popes of Avignon, the Pont du Gard, or the ornate Pont-d’Arc cave. The diversity of the wine-growing areas, due to the complex soils and variations of the Mediterranean climate, gives the Rhône Valley wines their unique character. Mostly reds, the wines of the Rhône are divided into three colours. In the north, robust but fine reds and aromatic whites. In the south, more full-bodied reds, expressive whites and round and fruity rosés. Sweet wines complete this large range.

Did You Know…

The Rhône is one of the major rivers of Europe and has twice the average discharge of the Loire (which is the longest French river), rising in the Rhône Glacier in the Swiss Alps at the far eastern end of the Swiss canton of Valais, passing through Lake Geneva and running through southeastern France. At Arles, near its mouth on the Mediterranean Sea, the river divides into two branches, known as the Great Rhône (French: le Grand Rhône) and the Little Rhône (le Petit Rhône). The resulting delta constitutes the Camargue region.

You can send your inquiry via the form below.

Recent Comments



    • No categories